Friday, September 7, 2018


Ludwig van Beethoven:  Quartet in B-flat Major, Op.18, No.6

Bela Bartok:  String Quartet No.3

Robert Schumann:  Piano Quintet in E-flat Major, Op.44,

    with Alexandre Dossin, piano

The Arianna Quartet celebrates the start of their 19th season in St. Louis in style, with an opening concert featuring three of the masterpieces of the classical, romantic, and 20th century repertoire!  Beethoven’s irrepressible Quartet in B-flat, Op.18, No.6, kicks off the concert season with an effervescent energy and revolutionary new style that glimpses the winds of change that Beethoven plans to bring to the classical era.  The revolution continues as the ASQ performs Bela Bartok’s momentous String Quartet No.3, the 1927 masterwork that mixes supreme clarity of expression with a contemporary sound that is as pertinent now, as ever. Internationally acclaimed piano virtuoso Alexandre Dossin then joins the Arianna Quartet for Robert Schumann’s heroic Piano Quintet, Op,44, one of the essential gems of the chamber music repertoire.  Be sure to join the ASQ as they ring in the new season at the Touhill with these three thrillers!



Friday, November 2, 2018

Death and Transcendence

Franz Schubert: Quartet in D minor, D.810, “Death and the Maiden”

Ludwig van Beethoven:  Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op.131

The ASQ offers this unforgettable concert event pairing two of the all-time great works for string quartet, together, in one concert.  As contemporaries of one another, Franz Schubert and Ludwig van Beethoven forged separate paths exploring and expressing the joy, fragility, anguish and triumph of the human experience; together, they changed the landscape of music forever.  Don't miss this rare opportunity to hear these two monumental works, performed by the renowned Arianna Quartet, back-to-back!



Friday, March 8, 2019

Viva Brazil!”

World Premiere! – Winner of 2019 FEMUSC String Quartet Composition Competition

Miguel del Aguila:  “Malambo” for Bassoon and String Quartet,

     with Benjamin Coelho, bassoon

Claudio Santoro:  String Quartet No.3

Arianna brings a taste of Brazil to the Touhill!  In an evening inspired by their ongoing work in South America, the ASQ will present the world premiere of the winning composition from the 2019 FEMUSC String Quartet Composition Competition (Festival of Music, Santa Catarina, Brazil).  The Arianna Quartet also welcomes Brazilian virtuoso bassoonist Benjamin Coelho to St. Louis for a performance of Miguel del Aguila’s rhapsodic “Malambo”, and closes out the evening with Claudio Santoro’s electrifying Quartet No.3.   Get ready to be inspired and transported!



Friday, May 3, 2019

Shifting Vistas

Felix Mendelssohn:  Quartet in E-flat Major, Op.12

Daniel Schnyder:  String Quartet Nr. 4, “Great Places” (2007)

Atar Arad: “Whims”, for String Quartet

Felix Mendelssohn:  String Quintet in B-flat Major, Op.87,

   with Atar Arad, viola

The Arianna Quartet wraps up their St. Louis season with a program shaped by the captivating innovation of two brilliant young composers.  Daniel Schnyder’s intoxicating, jazz influenced String Quartet Nr.4, “Great Places”, captures snapshots of cities from around the world, and through time, bringing a unique and fresh voice to the world of classical music.  The ebullient sound of Felix Mendelssohn opens and closes the season finale, as the ASQ explores the shimmering beauty of the String Quartet, Op.12, the first string quartet by the 20 year-old genius, and concludes with his profound late work, the String Quintet, Op.87.  The Arianna Quartet will be joined by string quartet luminary, violist, Atar Arad, for what is certain to be one of the concert events of the year in St. Louis.  As an added bonus, the ASQ will also perform Mr. Arad’s elegant set of miniatures, “Whims”, for string quartet.




UMSL Music Department


Concert Series


7:10 P.M. Pre-concert talk

8:00 P.M. Concert